Remote Teaching SA Support Fund

This short-term fund has been made available to enable employment of graduate students in support of our move to remote teaching activities in light of COVID-19. The fund is managed by the GMCTL with oversight from the TLSE and CGPS.
See our Remote Teaching SA Support Fund page in the Remote Teaching menu or click the button below for details and application information.

Master Teacher Award

Awarded twice annually, at spring and fall convocations, the Master Teacher Award represents the highest level of recognition of teaching excellence at the University of Saskatchewan.

Nomination Deadlines: Nominations must be submitted to before February 15 and August 15 each year.

Provost's Outstanding Teaching Awards

Provost's College Awards

The Provost’s College Awards for Outstanding Teaching annually recognize an outstanding teacher in each College at the University of Saskatchewan.

Nomination Deadlines: Nominations for the Provost's College Awards must be submitted to each college by February 1. Each college adjudicates these nominations, then must submit the successful nomination to by February 15. 

Provost's Themed Awards

The Provost's Themes Awards annually recognize four categories of teaching excellence across campus: Graduate Student Teacher Award, Support of Teaching and Learning Award, New Teacher Award, and Outstanding Teacher Award. The New Teacher and Outstanding Teacher Awards must align with one or more strategic themes.

Nomination Deadlines: Nominations for the Provost's Themed Awards must be submitted to by February 15.

Sylvia Wallace Sessional Lecturer Award

The Sylvia Wallace Sessional Lecturer Award annually recognizes the important and essential contribution of sessional lecturers to the University of Saskatchewan's teaching community. The Sylvia Wallace Award recipient is announced annually at the spring Celebration of Teaching.

Nomination Deadlines: Nominations for the award must be submitted to by February 15.

Provost’s Prize for Collaborative Teaching and Learning

Application Deadline: The deadline for prize applications is February 15 each year.

The Provost’s Prize for Collaborative Teaching and Learning is a $2,000 prize awarded to a team of faculty involved in the delivery of a successful and innovative collaborative teaching and learning initiative.

Curriculum Innovation Fund

As part of the PCIP-funded Curriculum Innovation Initiative, this fund is available for academic units to support curriculum innovation projects. The GMCTL administers this fund of approximately $250,000 per year for 2012 to 2016.

Experiential Learning Fund

As part of the PCIP-funded Teaching Innovation Initiative, a project fund is available for academic units to support student access to experiential learning opportunities. The Gwenna Moss Centre administers this Experiential Learning Fund of approximately $100,000 per year. The primary purpose of the fund is to be an enabler in supporting the creation of new experiential learning opportunities including Indigenous learning activities that involve Elders, knowledge keepers, and/or Indigenous community leaders.

Scholarship of Teaching and Learning "Cluster" Fund

Funding is available to create faculty-led scholarship of teaching and learning groups. Each cluster will receive up to $5,000 per year for two years as well as the supports below, all with the goal of enhancing teaching and learning through research informed approaches and reflection.

Open Educational Resources Fund

The University of Saskatchewan is pleased to make funding available to support the use, adaptation, and creation of open textbooks at the university. The funding will be provided for projects involving U of S instructors adapting existing open textbooks, creating new ones, or developing supporting resources (e.g. test bank questions, slides, etc.) needed to facilitate the use of an open textbook in place of a commercial text.

Course Innovation Community

U of S instructors can apply to join a new Course Innovation Community. Selected applicants must be teaching a course of 75 or more students and will commit to participating in a 9-month program to design or redesign that course to improve student learning. Selected applicants will actively participate in a cohort of their peers that progresses together in a carefully designed sequence of workshops. They will also receive $5,000 in funding that will be transferred to their home unit.

National Teaching Awards

Educators at the U of S are eligible under most circumstances to apply for the following national teaching awards. In each case, institutional support of a nomination is required. If you are interested in nominating an exceptional teacher, we welcome you to submit an expression of interest for consideration of institutional support in preparing your nomination. For more information about these awards and the nomination process, contact Wenona Partridge.

3M National Teaching Fellowship: The highest award for exceptional teaching in Canada.

Alan Blizzard Collaborative Projects Award: Rewards collaboration in teaching.

D2L Innovation Award in Teaching and Learning:  An international award that recognizes innovation in post-secondary teaching.

3M National Student Fellowship: An educational leadership award for undergraduate and graduate students.