About the Award

The award was established in 2001 to honour the memory of Dr. Sylvia Wallace, College of Pharmacy and Nutrition.

Dr. Wallace was an Associate Vice-President (Academic) at the University of Saskatchewan and a recipient of the University's Master Teacher Award. This namesake award recognizes exceptional competence in teaching - including superior command of the subject area, skills at organizing and developing class materials, and the capacity to motivate and inspire students.

Value: The winner of the award receives $1,000 from the GMCTL.


Successful candidates for this award will demonstrate the following characteristics:

  • effectiveness in undergraduate lectures/discussions/studios/laboratories,
  • a command of their subject area,
  • skills in organizing and developing class material, and
  • the capacity to motivate and inspire students.

Nomination Process


Students, peers, department heads, or deans may nominate candidates. Individuals may also nominate themselves.


While there is no rigid criterion for length and breadth of service at the university, a teaching record extending over several years and including the teaching of more than one course will tend to increase a nominee's chance of being selected for the award.

Nominees must teach at least one course at the University of Saskatchewan during the academic year in which they were nominated.

Sessional lecturers teach in many different contexts: in large classes, small classes, and through individualized instruction; at the main campus or at off-campus sites; face-to-face and by various modes of distance delivery; and in all disciplines. Anyone demonstrating exceptional competence in one or more contexts is eligible.

Nomination Package Requirements

Nominations must not exceed 15 pages, excluding the CV, and include the following sections and materials:

  • Letter of nomination
  • Teaching philosophy statement
  • Evidence of teaching: This should include sample exemplar teaching materials and summarized teaching evaluations and feedback from up to the most recent two years of teaching history
  • Abridged CV, focused on teaching (Not counted toward 15 page limit)

Past Recipients

  • Steven Langdon, Chemistry (2023)
  • Nat Banting, College of Education (2022)
  • Carly Prieb, College of Kinesiology (2022)
  • Margo Adam, College of Kinesiology (2020)
  • William Robertson, English (2019)
  • Glorie Tebbutt, English (2018)
  • David Terrance York, Political Studies (2018)
  • Rita Matlock, English (2017)
  • Jim Taylor, College of Education (2015)
  • Rod Johnson and Bert Weichel, Geography and Planning (2014)
  • Daniel Neilson, Computer Science (2013)
  • Wendy Wilson, Women's and Gender Studies and Sociology (2012)
  • Christtine Fondse, College of Education (2011)
  • Brian Zulkoskey, Physics and Engineering Physics (2010)
  • Greg Saretzky, Civil Engineering (2009)
  • Peggy Proctor, School of Physical Therapy (2008)
  • Warren Noonan, College of Education, (2007)
  • Bonnie Nicholson, Music (2006)
  • Michael Kennedy, English (2005)
  • Carolyn Brooks, Sociology (2004)
  • Wendy Schissel, Women's and Gender Studies (2003)
  • Marcus Rayner, NORTEP (2002)
  • Jack Coggins, History (2001)


Nominations should be submitted to the Gwenna Moss Centre for Teaching and Learning by February 15th of each year using the submission portal:


Gwenna Moss Centre for Teaching and Learning (GMCTL)