Originally established as the Saskatchewan Indian Community College, its name was changed to the Saskatchewan Indian Institute of Technologies (SIIT) by the Legislative Assembly of the Federation of the Saskatchewan Indians in 1985. The SIIT became the first technical institute in Canada to be controlled by First Nations. Initially, it delivered adult academic upgrading courses, life skills courses, and basic management training to First Nations. The programming evolved to include certified technical and vocational training, as well as the delivery of specific technical and vocational training to First Nations communities.

On July 1, 2000, the Saskatchewan government recognized SIIT as a fully functioning provincial post-secondary institution, with the ability to award its own certificates and diplomas and to be recognized by both Indian and non-Indian communities. This certification allows students to transfer their credits to other institutions and have their certificates and diplomas recognized by all employers in the province. SIIT has campuses at nine different locations: Saskatoon, Regina, Fort Qu’Appelle, Yorkton, Prince Albert, North Battleford, Onion Lake, Meadow Lake and La Ronge.

Rob Nestor