About the Award

The University of Saskatchewan recognizes the importance of teaching in the professional lives of its faculty, and wants to recognize faculty early in their careers who devote themselves to teaching and show outstanding promise as teachers. The Outstanding New Teacher Award annually recognizes an outstanding new teacher.

Value: The recipient will receive an award of $1,000 to be used to support a project or scholarship in teaching and learning. The award will be transferred to a University of Saskatchewan account held in the name of the recipient of the award. Please note that in order to hold the award funding, the recipient must be employed by the University.

One award will be made annually and the recipient will be recognized at a Celebration of Teaching hosted by the Gwenna Moss Centre for Teaching and Learning.


Evidence of outstanding teaching

  • Excellent overall teaching quality in courses as determined by students and peers
  • Evidence of commitment to teaching and learning, and energy devoted to teaching
  • Evidence of excellent teaching at the undergraduate level, and at the graduate level where possible
  • Evidence of excellent graduate student supervision and mentorship where possible

Evidence of educational leadership

  • The production of high quality peer-reviewed scholarly contributions related to university teaching or learning
  • Contributions to the mentorship and development of teaching skills in their peers and junior colleagues
  • Activity related to the design or development of an innovative strategy, course, or program of study
  • Evidence of ongoing professional development in teaching

Nomination Process


Students, alumni, staff, faculty, departments, and colleges are eligible to nominate a candidate.


The award will be given to a tenure-track or continuing status faculty member whose first faculty appointment is at the University of Saskatchewan and who is within the first four years of their appointment . The recipient will still be eligible if they have taught (as a graduate student or sessional lecturer) at the U of S or elsewhere prior to their initial appointment as a faculty member, so long as their first continuing faculty appointment is at the U of S. As a condition of receiving the award, the recipients will be asked to make a public presentation organized by the Gwenna Moss Centre on their work in teaching and learning.


Nominations and supporting materials are limited to 15 pages.

  • Nominations typically include a two-page letter of nomination plus a three-page abbreviated cv, a statement of teaching philosophy, three to five letters of support—at least three of which should be from peers (faculty, colleagues, instructors or department heads)—and a summary of student evaluations (commentary or data, such as SEEQ profiles).
  • Page limit does not include cover page and table of contents.

Selection Committee

Nominations, shall be forwarded to the Gwenna Moss Centre. A selection committee composed of the Director of the GMCTL, past Provost's teaching award recipients, and a student representative will review nominations and select a recipient.


Nomination Deadlines: Nominations must be submitted by February 15 each year.

Each nomination package should be submitted as a single PDF attachment to awards_gmctl@usask.ca.

You may address letters of support to the Provost’s Teaching Awards selection committee.

Past Recipients

  • Colleen Bell and Benjamin Hoy (2017)
  • Kathryn Labelle and Vince Bruni-Bossio (2016)
  • Dionne Pohler (2014)
  • Regan Schmidt (2013)
  • Loleen Berdahl (2012)
  • Simonne Horwitz (2011)
  • Angela Bedard-Haughn and Jay Wilson (2010)


Gwenna Moss Centre for Teaching and Learning