About the Award

The Provost’s Award for Outstanding Innovation in Learning annually recognizes an outstanding teacher who demonstrates innovative approaches to learning at the University of Saskatchewan.

Value: The recipient will receive an award of $1,000 to be used to support a project or scholarship in teaching and learning. The award will be transferred to a University of Saskatchewan account. 

One award will be made annually and the recipient will be recognized at a Celebration of Teaching hosted by the Gwenna Moss Centre for Teaching and Learning.


Evidence of innovative approaches to teaching and learning

  • New or innovative pedagogies in courses, such as active learning, guided-independent study, blended learning, distributed learning, or self-directed learning
  • Sustained commitment to innovation in the classroom and/or the laboratory, such as participation in learning communities, community service learning or peer-assisted, collaborative approaches
  • Innovative uses of learning technologies at the undergraduate level, and at the graduate level where appropriate to assigned duties

Evidence of leadership in distributed teaching and learning

  • The production of high quality peer-reviewed scholarly contributions related to innovative approaches to learning
  • Contributions to the promotion, mentorship and/or development of innovative learning strategies and technologies with peers and junior colleagues
  • Activity related to the design or development of an innovative strategy, course, or program of study
  • Evidence of ongoing professional development in teaching

Nomination Process


Students, alumni, staff, faculty, departments, and colleges are eligible to nominate a candidate.


All faculty, sessional lecturers or staff members employed on a full-time or continuing part-time basis by the University are eligible. As a condition of receiving the award, the recipients will be asked to make a public presentation organized by the Gwenna Moss Centre on their work in teaching and learning.


Nominations and supporting materials are limited to 15 pages.

  • Nominations typically include a two-page letter of nomination that explicitly addresses how the innovation was developed and how it influences learning, plus a three-page abbreviated curriculum vitae, a statement of teaching philosophy, three to five letters of support—at least three of which should be from peers (faculty, colleagues, instructors or department heads)—and a summary of student evaluations (commentary or data, such as SEEQ profiles)
  • The page limit does not include the cover page or the table of contents.

Selection Committee

Nominations should be forwarded to the Gwenna Moss Centre. A selection committee composed of the Director of the GMCTL, past Provost's teaching award recipients, and a student representative will review nominations and select a recipient.


Nomination Deadlines: Nominations must be submitted by February 15 each year.

Each nomination package should be submitted as a single PDF attachment to awards_gmctl@usask.ca.

You may address letters of support to the Provost’s Teaching Awards selection committee.

Past Recipients

  • Jason Perepelkin (2017)
  • Dr. Marie Lovrod (2015)
  • Christopher Todd (2013) 
  • John Kleefeld (2012) 
  • Ken Van Rees (2011) 
  • Fred Phillips (2010) 


Gwenna Moss Centre for Teaching and Learning