About the Award

The Provost’s Award for Excellence in International Teaching annually recognizes an outstanding teacher who makes an exceptional contribution to International Teaching at the University of Saskatchewan. There are three avenues to demonstrating success in international teaching include:

  • teaching international students,
  • teaching about international perspectives and
  • leadership in international education - here or elsewhere.

Value: The recipient will receive an award of $1,000 to be used to support a project or scholarship in teaching and learning. The award will be transferred to a University of Saskatchewan account held in the name of the recipient of the award. 

One award will be made annually and the recipient will be recognized at a Celebration of Teaching hosted by the Gwenna Moss Centre for Teaching and Learning.


Evidence of outstanding teaching to international students and/or bringing international perspectives and viewpoints to local students

  • Excellent overall teaching quality in courses as determined by students and peers
  • Evidence of sustained commitment to international teaching and learning initiatives over a number of years
  • Evidence of excellent teaching about international perspectives at the pre-undergraduate, undergraduate level, and/or at the graduate level where possible.
  • Evidence of excellent graduate student supervision and mentorship of international students where possible.

Evidence of leadership in international education

  • The production of high quality peer-reviewed scholarly contributions related to international teaching or learning
  • Contributions to the promotion, mentorship and/or development of international teaching in their peers and junior colleagues.
  • Activity related to the design or development of an innovative strategy, course, or program of study
  • Evidence of ongoing professional development in teaching

Nomination Process


Students, alumni, staff, faculty, departments, or colleges are eligible to nominate a candidate.


All faculty, sessional lecturers or staff members employed on a full-time or continuing part-time basis by the University are eligible. As a condition of receiving the award, the recipients will be asked to make a public presentation organized by the Gwenna Moss Centre on their work in teaching and learning.


Nominations and supporting materials are strictly limited to 15 pages.

  • Nominations typically include a two-page letter of nomination that explicitly addresses how the innovation was developed and how it influences learning, plus a three-page abbreviated cv, a statement of teaching philosophy, three to five letters of support-- at least three of which should be from peers (faculty, colleagues, instructors, or department heads)--and a summary of student evaluations (commentary or data, such as SEEQ profiles).
  • The page limit does not include the cover page or table of contents.

Selection Committee

Nominations, shall be forwarded to the Gwenna Moss Centre. A selection committee composed of the Director of the GMCTL, past Provost's teaching award recipients, and a student representative will review nominations and select a recipient.


Nomination Deadlines: Nominations must be submitted by February 15 each year.

Each nomination package should be submitted as a single PDF attachment to awards_gmctl@usask.ca.

You may address letters of support to the Provost’s Teaching Awards selection committee.

Past Recipients

  • Simonne Horwitz (2013)
  • Kalowatie Deonandan (2012)
  • James Mullens (2011)
  • Lisa Krol (2010)


Gwenna Moss Centre for Teaching and Learning